Atomic and Molecular Spectroscopy

Theory

Ivan Deutsch

Photo: Ivan Deutsch

Regents Professor

Quantum Optics, Atom Optics, Laser Cooling, Quantum Information Science

Physics and Astronomy

Email: 
ideutsch@phys.unm.edu
Phone: 
505.277.1502

Experiment

Victor Acosta

Photo: Victor Acosta

Associate Professor

Quantum sensing with color centers in diamond; AMO physics; Biological and chemical imaging.

Physics and Astronomy
CHTM

Email: 
vmacosta@unm.edu
Phone: 
510.717.6147
Office: 
Center for High Technology Materials

Jean-Claude Diels

Photo: Jean-Claude Diels

Professor

Fiber Optics, Laser Physics, Nonlinear Optics, Spectroscopy, Ultrafast Phenomena.

ECE
Physics and Astronomy
CHTM

Email: 
jcdiels@unm.edu
Phone: 
505.277.4026

Francisco Becerra

Photo: Francisco Becerra

Associate Professor

Optics, Experimental research in quantum optics, nonlinear optics, and quantum information

Physics and Astronomy

Email: 
fbecerra@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-2673

Terefe Habteyes

Photo: Terefe Habteyes

Assistant Professor

DNA mediated optical coupling, Semiconductor-metal hybrid nanomaterials, Fabrication and optical characterization of plasmonic sensors and probes, Energy transfer in coupled quantum dot and plasmonic nanostructures

CHTM
Chemistry

Email: 
habteyes@unm.edu
Phone: 
505.277.8845

Keith Lidke

Photo: Keith Lidke

Associate Professor

Fluorescence super-resolution techniques, Single-particle tracking, Hyperspectral microscopy 

Physics and Astronomy

Email: 
klidke@unm.edu
Phone: 
505.277.0302

Peter Schwindt

Photo: Peter Schwindt

Associate Professor

Implementations of quantum information processing in neutral-atom systems and on development of high-precision, compact atomic clocks 

Physics and Astronomy

Email: 
pschwin@sandia.gov
Phone: 
505-845-4040

Mansoor Sheik-Bahae

Photo: Mansoor Sheik-Bahae

Distinguished Professor

Laser cooling of solids, Terahertz optics, ultrafast optics

Physics and Astronomy

Email: 
msb@unm.edu
Phone: 
505.272.2080